Perpetual Motion

Máirtin O'Connor is widely recognised as Ireland's leading accordion player with a remarkable career stretching back to the late '70's that has seen him perform as a leading member of many traditional groups. 'Perpetual Motion' (MOC 001) released in 1990, displays his outstanding skill, dexterity and versatility to the full. It was nominated for a Bank of Ireland Arts Award Máirtin has recorded with many leading Irish and international artists such as The Chieftains, The Dubliners, Tanita Tikaram, Townes van Zandt, The Waterboys, Mark Knopfler, Elvis Costello and Rod Stewart . He is also a regular soloist with the RTE Concert Orchestra as well as being a featured soloist on such works as Bill Whelan's 'Seville Suite', the hugely successful 'Riverdance', 'Some Mother's Son', 'Dancing at Lughnasa' and Shaun Davey's 'Twelfth Night'.

Máirtín O'Connor CDs available online include
Perpetual Motion

The Road West

Rain of Light

"One of the 1990's key instrumental albums"- Q magazine.

"Impeccable"- Taplas magazine,

"O'Connor explores many styles of music, from Basque fandangoes to rock & roll. But he maintains a characteristically Irish lift to his playing" -- Steve Winick All Music Guide


  • Máirtín O'Connor - Two-row button-key accordion (D/D sharp system).
  • Garvan Gallagher - bass.
  • James Delaney - keyboards
  • Jimmy Faulkner - guitars.
  • Colm Murphy: bodhran
  • Brendan O'Regan - Bouzouki, mandolin
  • Martin Murray - violin.
  • Garry O'Briain - guitar.
  • Paul Grant - guitar.
  • Geraldine Cullen - Cello.
  • Bobby Bible - keyboards.
  • Marty Mancho and H.D. Schwartz - percussion


Album Sleevenotes

Third Party Sites

Back to Top

Copyright © 1999 - 2014 Tara Music Company Limited. - All Rights Reserved
Terms and Conditions

Design by

Link to MBE website